Rush No More (Live Slow)

I think about death
every night before I sleep
because a night’s sleep to me
is the death of the day
and who I was during that day.
I’m more wary of self-destruction,
as well as the dangers of rushing
through life or
staying too busy to notice the great little niceties
afforded by this existence.
I used to want to be older,
wiser, and more experienced
and to have people listen to what I have to say
without dismissing it as foolish gibberish.
I wanted to be older
to have everything figured out.
I was in a rush.
Now I’m learning
to live like the turtle.
They show you what happens
when you live slow.
They live long
(and they die old)

Use your voice

