Social Networth

I feel special
because others scroll through their news feeds
and happen to notice
something I posted.
They click like and move on
but I fawn over the
transaction.

You like me.
You really, really like me.

A minor
fortune
from witty posts.

Silent voyeurs
forget to
speculate
on the true value
of these numbers,
these investments.

Slowly gaining interest.

I see your faces
caught in a moment
you want us all to see.

Deactivated again.

Funds are frozen
No more red-flag notifications
No more chat.
Exchange rate dips.

The social network
so ingrained in my life
it helped raise me,
helped accumulate
this wealth of validation.

Let’s see what carries over
outside the network.
Hopefully the exchange rate
to real life
won’t dilute the
tiny fortune.

Use your voice

