Gnawing

I miss the morning texts
I miss the feelings that arised
when I saw your sleeping eyes.
I miss the reminders
That it’s worth being alive.
That this isn’t just a treadmill
to be conquered fast and blind.
I miss making you laugh
and knowing it was mine.

I miss the beginning
when it felt one-of-a-kind.

Now all I’m left with
is this gnawing in my mind.

How I didn’t give it time.
And couldn’t just decide.

But I need to move on
and it should all be fine.
At least I went along
for the ride.

2 comments

  1. I wonder if this should be called ‘Riding …’ because the poem is continuing the relationship even though it has ended;

    excuse me

    1. you’re right.

Use your voice

