I Believe

I would pray when I was younger and this is how I used to believe. If I was worried about a problem or looming situation, I would pray. My requests ranged from keeping my family healthy to keeping me alive during my next dentist appointment.

Then I got older, more cynical, and less concerned with spirituality or religion. I wouldn’t pray for answers, I would look for them. I replaced God with Google. I believe in knowledge. I believe in sharing and exchanging ideas.

I believe we can only experience a crumb of the gigantic reality cake we find ourselves living within. I believe a small example, such as how we can’t see infrared or ultraviolet light, provides sufficient proof that there is so much more going on than we can ever fully notice or fathom.

I believe a small mundane moment, such as looking at a crack in the ceiling, can actually be sliced and diced and pondered and analyzed and philosophized and romanticized into so many pieces that volumes of books could be written about that one little moment.

I don’t believe in an afterlife, but I believe in this ongoing experiment. I believe there’s so much packed into this four-letter word “Life” that it’s not fair to write it the same size as any other word, it should be written fifteen-stories high in the thickest marker available.

I believe I could be wrong.

Use your voice

