Ham Casserole

I don’t need Instagram
to share this casserole.
It’s lukewarm, and drab
like the coat of an army mole.

It’s comfort food
without the soul
topped with chips
inside a bowl.

The “foodies”
as they’re pigeonholed
now take me
for a tactless troll.

“This is not gourmet
or fancy.
This is not tasty,
it’s nasty.”

Never doubt the power
of soup from a can
and pasta and ham
mixed in a glassy pan.

It makes me feel good,
and always hits the spot.
I like ham casserole the way it is
because it’s never what it’s not.

One comment

  1. I love this. I really do.

Use your voice

